Published on:

Two Springfield Illinois DUI cops among most active in the state

Two Springfield DUI police officers are among the Top 15 for DUI arrests in Illinois. These figures come from the Alliance Against Intoxicated Motorists (AIIM).

AIIM’S name suggests that it is a “grass-roots” organization. However, the fine print on its web page reveals that AIIM is nothing but a government-sponsored entity masquerading as something else (they had me fooled at first).

Anyone ever arrested in Illinois for DUI knows that while the government claims DUI enforcement is all about public safety, they sure make a lot of money off it. Towing expenses, bond, fines, fees, and so forth all benefit the state, the county, police agencies and some other special interests whose mission bears little, if any, relationship to public safety.

If you are convicted of DUI, even a first offense carries with it the potential of up to $2,500 in fines, not to mention probation fees, random drug testing (at your expense), head trauma funds, victim impact panel funds, and whatever else the authorities can conjure up to take money out of your wallet. The state police even charge a fee for arresting you!

There’s more: prepare to pay for high risk insurance that you must carry for 36 months, a drug and alcohol evaluation, 20 to 75 hours of alcohol counseling that will probably cost at least $25.00 an hour and possibly driver risk education courses.


You may also have to obtain an MDDP and install a BAIID. If you obtain an MDDP, you must pay the state a monthly administrative fee. This fee is in addition to the monthly fee you must pay the provider of the BAIID machine.

A DUI conviction also results in a driver’s license revocation for no less than one year. In order to restore your driving privileges, you must have a driver’s license reinstatement hearing. If you have a formal hearing, you must pay a $50.00 hearing fee. Assuming you have a successful hearing, the Illinois Secretary of State will not restore your driver’s license until you pay a $500 reinstatement fee.

The consequences of an Illinois DUI conviction are serious. If you are charged with a Springfield Illinois DUI, you should not try and handle it on your own.

Posted in:
Published on:
Updated:

Comments are closed.