Published on:

Driver in Springfield Illinois charged with DUI after crash

A man in Springfield Illinois was recently charged with DUI following a crash. An officer noticed the car was speeding and gave chase. The driver fled. His car crashed and he attempted to run but was caught.

In addition to being charged with DUI, he could receive tickets for leaving the scene of an accident (“hit-and-run”), fleeing and eluding (speeding away from police in pursuit), and disobeying police instructions (running from the police). Leaving the scene and DUI are class-A misdemeanors subject to a fine of up to $2,500 and/or up to 364 days in the county jail. The other possible tickets are less serious.

Besides the criminal consequences of the DUI and leaving the scene, a conviction for either offense will result in a driver’s license revocation. For a first offense, a conviction would result in a one-year revocation. If this is the second offense within 20 years, the Secretary of State would revoke the driver’s license for 5 years. A third conviction would cause a 10-year revocation. A fourth conviction after January 1, 1999 would cause a lifetime revocation.

DUI Supervision is a possible disposition for a first DUI offense. There are many advantages to supervision. For one thing, your driver’s license would not be revoked. The second advantage is that you would not be sentenced to jail.

A revocation is caused only if you are convicted of DUI. (Supervision is not a conviction) A revocation takes away your license for 1, 5 or 10 years. When that time is over, you must have a driver’s license reinstatement hearing to restore your driving privileges.


Completely separate from the revocation is the suspension. A suspension ends automatically when the time is up.

A suspension occurs regardless of what happens to the DUI charge, even if it is dismissed. Suspensions result from refusing to provide a breath or blood sample upon request by the police or providing a sample and registering above the Illinois legal limit of .08%.

If you have not had a DUI arrest in the previous 5 years, your suspension will be for 6 months if you provide a sample above the legal limit and 12 months if you refuse. If you have had a DUI in the previous 5 years, your suspension will be 12 months if you gave a sample and are over the limit and 3 years if you refuse to provide a sample of your breath or blood.